Cookies on the
NIAA website

Cookies are small text files held on your computer. They allow us to give you the best browsing experience possible and mean we can understand how you use our site. Some cookies may have already been set. You can delete and block the cookies but this may impair the functionality of the website. To find out more about the cookies, please see our privacy policy.

RCoA Payne Stafford Tan Award

This award was originally established through the generosity of an American friend of the College, Mr Norman Knight, in honour of the medical careers of Professor James P Payne, Dr J A Timothy Stafford and Dr Oon Tan.

The aim of the prize is to mark excellence in clinical practice, teaching or research in anaesthesia, critical care or pain management. The award is open to any Fellow or Member of the College, and comprises a grant (to a maximum of £1,000) to be used for educational purposes such as attendance at a major conference or the purchase of educational materials.

The recipient will be expected to provide a short report outlining how the funds have been used.

Please note that the assessment process can take up to three months from the deadline. Applications should be submitted for travel or projects that will be taking place from December onwards and unfortunately retrospective applications cannot be considered.

To Apply

Nominations are now invited for the 2016 award, and must be made by a Fellow or Member of the College. The nomination should be in the form of a letter outlining the particular merits of the individual nominated, and should be accompanied by a full curriculum vitae for that individual. Self-nominations are acceptable.

  • Please submit your nomination and full CV as a single pdf file, using the upload box below.

  • A signed hard copy should also be sent before the deadline to: Ms Pamela Hines, NIAA Coordinator, Royal College of Anaesthetists, Churchill House, 35 Red Lion Square, London, WC1R 4SG.

    The deadline for all applications is 5.00 pm on Friday, 2 September 2016

    Submit Your Application Here

    Upload Request Form

    To upload a file you must first confirm your name and email address by filling in and submitting the form below.

    If you have entered a valid email address you will receive an email containing a link. This link will allow you to access the upload page where you will be able to submit your document in either PDF (.pdf), Word (.doc / .docx) or a group of files in ZIP (.zip) format.

    Full instructions will be included in the email. If you don't receive an email then please re-send this form carefully checking that you have typed your email address correctly.

    Please report any problems with file upload via the contact page.

    First name(s) :  
    Last name(s) :
    Email address: